Day Two: Lemon Ginger Garlic Honey

We’re all still sick. It’s the worst. We’re parents now and can’t just go take a nap or long hot shower and it’s kinda awesome and terrible all at once. Anyway, because we’re still sick and I’m on some meds I am taking a bit of a pass and posting a recipe because I felt like yesterday’s post was a bit mindless and I just can’t do two bad ones in a row.

Anyway, whenever Dion and I aren’t feeling our best I make a giant jar of this stuff so that all we have to do is put the kettle on. I swear it helps shorten our colds.

What You Need:

  • A Giant Mason Jar
  • 5 Lemons
  • A Shit Ton Of Ginger (The more the better but it really depends on what your taste buds can handle)
  • Garlic (Again, the more the better but trust me when I say that you really do not want to taste it in this drink)
  • Cayenne Pepper (To taste, you don’t need much)
  • A Small Jar Of Honey

How To:

  • Cut the lemons in half and then into very thin slices.
  • Grate the ginger and garlic.
  • Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl and mix really well… like really really well.
  • Add everything to the mason jar and let it sit overnight before using if you can wait that long.
  • When you’re ready for your first cuppa all you need to do is pop on the kettle, add as much of the mixture as you would like to your mug, pour over the hot water, stir and enjoy (well enjoy as much as you can enjoy anything when you’re feeling less than your best).

Leave a Comment