Starting the 21 Day Sugar Detox

As usual in my life, it has been far too long since my last post. Turns out the holidays are not only busy in my personal life but also very very busy at work. So although I desperately wanted to recommit to writing more, I pretty much failed upon saying that. Oh well, all I can do is admit failure, dust myself off and try to be better this time.

So on with it I go.

I have never been a huge fan of making resolutions. Unfortunately, it’s human nature to take the easy road and become complacent in the pursuit of awesomeness. I for one am guilty as charged. That being said, the start of a new year is a great time to set your intentions and/or recommit yourself to something you have turned your back on a bit.

I am the queen of losing perspective and life balance at times. I consider myself a bit of a pinball. I have the tendency to go in one direction full force until I bump into something and it redirects me. My current position is the first position that I really enjoy and have the chance to have an impact. I find myself not avoiding the long days at my desk and grabbing a quick lunch or turning down a run so that I can finish up the details of something I am working on.  In those moments I forget all of my athletic and health goals and, being my pinball self, I go full force into my career. Needless to say that is totally not sustainable or healthy.

So as I came into the Holiday season I realized that I had been maintaining a bare minimum of training and a crappy diet at best (my husband’s love of McDonald’s didn’t help). I also realized that I had few extra jiggly bits these days. Besides wanting to be healthy because I love my body, I also have athletic goals for 2015. My crappy diet and lack of commitment to training were not going to help me achieve them. So Dion and I had a ‘come to Jesus talk’ about 2014’s slippery slope into complacency and decided we needed to do something BIG.

Enter the 21 Day Sugar Detox. Our house is already gluten free thanks to my allergy and besides some cheese and the hubby’s protein shakes we are pretty low dairy. So this program is a good way to level up our nutritional Jedi powers. A year ago we had flirted with this book, but a week in we were bored with our cooking because we were not prepared and bailed. 2015 is a different beast and I am determined to make it my biatch.

So two weeks out I began my research, collected recipes and started making my shopping list and plan of attack. Yesterday I spent about 5 hours doing some meal prep and I am hoping to cook throughout the week to keep our food supplies up and fresh. So get excited because after even day one of cooking I have some awesome recipes to share.

Cheers to treating your body right and chasing dreams!

 

Leave a Comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

