Positivity Challenge Day Four and Day Five

Like all long weekends my husband and I spent more time running around than relaxing and I have a serious dislike for writing with just my phone. So I made the decision to hold off and just start the week off with the things I have been thankful for over Labor Day Weekend.

I have really enjoyed this positivity Challenge and I have decided that I am going to try and keep it up. Not every day but every week. So once a week look forward to a post about all things awesome in this world.

Day Four:

1) Sleeping In: On Sunday I did not have the chance to sleep in but it reminded me that sleeping in is something I savor when I get the chance to do it. For ten years I was up before 5am. Now, the two indulgences that I find so very decadent are not setting an alarm and/or hitting the snooze button. Now that I am married sleeping in is even better. I always tell Dion there is actually no better way to start my day than waking up and being able to linger in bed with him. We don’t get those moments often, but when we do, I spend the day a little happier and a lot more grateful.

2) Gluten Free Beer: This may sound shallow or stupid to some but I am so grateful that people figured out how to make some tasty GF beers. After my car accident I kept getting sick and found out that I had developed a gluten allergy through all the trauma and stress. That was right around the time that I had also realized there was more to beer than Coors Light. Gluten Free brewing was not really a thing yet or, if it had been, I didn’t know about it. I love good spirits and wine but sometimes you just want to chill out and sip on a beer like a normal person. When GF beers started popping up I couldn’t help but get excited. Every time I am able to order a beer at a bar there is a split second where I am just so stoked to be normal.

3) Meghan Trainor’s song ‘All About That Bass’: First of all, high five for spelling your name with a ‘H.’ Second of all, my poor husband has had to pay witness to me car dancing to this song far too often this weekend. I recently saw an article that said she may have stolen the beat/melody from a K Pop artist and, although that’s a serious allegation, I love this song and do not care. The whole body positive movement is so freaking awesome. I wish I had grown up with images, songs and stories that empowered me to love my body for what it was capable of and not what mold it didn’t fit. I am very grateful that I will not be a sole voice of reason to our future super hero children about how strong and capable they are.

Day Five:

1) RibFest: I went to school in Texas and that made my love of meats, cooked low and slow over some hard wood, even stronger than before. When I lived in New Zealand BBQ Ribs were basically impossible to find. Dion and I did find them at two places and, while they were good enough to make it until the next visit home, BBQ is something the we (the US) do right. So when Dion and I found out that the RibFest was happening this weekend we knew we HAD to get our butts down there. On Labor Day we had a casual latte, made by yours truly via our awesome espresso machine, and suited up (ie: everything stretchy lululemon) to make our way to the festival. I bee-lined to a stall from Magnolia, TX and although I knew Texas brisket was heaven on Earth I got the combo (it is RibFest after all). It was glorious and the only way brunch should be done, getting a tan and eating yummy smoked meat and pickles.

2)Orange is the New Black: Dion and I are automatically suspicious of any critically acclaimed shows. Because of that we didn’t start watching GoT until this past Fall, and on a whim this weekend we decided to give Orange is the New Black a go. I was immediately hooked, Dion, not so much. However as we got a couple episodes in we both couldn’t help but get invested in many of the characters. So after attacking the RibFest we sat on our couch and watched a couple, ok probably three, episodes in a row. It was lazy and glorious and I loved it.

3) Clean Sheets: Seriously, is there any better tiny pleasure in this world? While Dion and I watched Orange is the New Black, we washed any and everything we could get our hands on in our apartment. The only thing better than taking all of your sheets out of the dryer is knowing that you will get to snuggle up in them later. After a day of RibFest, binge watching TV, working out, working and a family BBQ our clean sheets were crisp and amazing and the prefect end to a laid back long weekend.

For those of you that have continued to follow my Positivity Challenge, I hope it has inspired you to look for the little joys in life… and over see my grammatically challenged writing. Over the past five days I have found myself taking in even the smallest of things with more gratitude which is why I hope to continue posting weekly Positivity Posts.

Have a great week everyone!

 

Leave a Comment

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

