I don’t want my blog to be consumed by heavy heavy posts so I thought I would post one of my DIY projects before getting back to my series about failure and moving forward.

As many of you know, Dion and I have been lucky enough to have two weddings. One was in Dion’s hometown in New Zealand and one here in my hometown, Pittsburgh. Both of the weddings were pulled off on a smaller than normal budget  and contained the blood sweat and tears of this avid pinner. Our wedding in New Zealand was pretty much 90% DIY and I could write soooo many posts about all the projects I did for that day, and I probably will along the way.

Side Note: Anyone that says Pintrest is silly needs to spend time with me. I have seriously used, or plan on using, a majority of the things I have pinned. I firmly believe that  it’s only silly if you waste your day pinning pictures of puppies and tattoos you will never get.

Our wedding here in the US had two major DIY projects and today I am going to share my favorite. Our glorious flower wall. The reason we came up with it was because the venue had a curtain/screen to hide the room dividers, all around said curtain/screen they had attached and draped this weird brown fabric. It made no sense and didn’t match anything. Seriously though, I had nightmares about this thing. So clearly, I had to turn to Pintrest to find ways to cover it up. The final product is below.

The Finished Project
The Finished Project

What I used to make this:

  • Tissue Paper: More that you ever knew you needed
  • 2 Rolls of Thickish White Paper (This was actually the hardest thing to find)
  • Pipe Cleaners (color does not really matter)
  • Super Tacky Glue (regular may work but I don’t mess around)
  • Hot Glue Gun ( I bought the cheapest one they had because hot glue is hot glue #amIright)
  • Glue Sticks: For the hot glue gun. You will use more than you ever though you could use (I think I used about 200, not a joke).
  • Foam Core Boards (I used about 6)
  • Zip Ties and pipe cleaners to attach the boards to the rails
  • A Glass, or bottle, of Champagne

1) About 2-3 months out gather all of your tissue paper, craft paper, glue/s and pipe cleaners. Then immediately try to find people to help you. When I say people, I mean people who love you dearly and are crafty because, although I thought these flowers were easy, they left many good people in their wake.

2) I stuck to a few different types of flowers to try to get into a rhythm. I did four ‘types’ of flowers over all: tissue paper flowers, giant rose/poppy type hybrids, dahlia and giant daisies. At first I tried to make them perfect, but, I am going to save you the heart ache because by the end my motto became ‘nothing in nature is perfect and symmetrical.’  I also wish I would have made a few medium-sized versions of my giant flowers just because I really liked the detail and texture they gave

3) Since I didn’t take pictures of the making of these crazy paper flowers I am going to give you my tips for each type of flower and the blogs I used for help. As I made them I tried to find ways to make them look different from one another and do it faster.

  • Tissue Paper Flower: Play with layering colors and textures. Mix petal shapes and don’t forget you can even add a layer of ‘leaves’ to these guys. These flowers made up the bulk of my wall and were easy to knock out while watching Netflix.
  • Giant Rose/Poppy: The biggest thing I can say is get the right paper. It can’t be super thick but has to have some guts to hold its shape. The other thing I will say is cut a ton of petals and then start putting it all together, trust me it’s faster that way. I also used hot glue to attach petals to add some bones to it all and it dries quicker.
  • Dahlias: Gosh these ones are time-consuming. Seriously I only made three of them because they sucked my soul. That being said they are very different and add texture. Like the rose/poppy I would say make a ton of the cones and then start gluing them together.
  • Giant Daisies: Use the same gutsy paper you used for the rose/poppy flowers and make the cone/petals in bulk then start gluing together. I think these had a lot of impact and were quick and easy.

4) Once your entire apartment has been taken over by paper flowers and you are a week out from the party/wedding/celebration you can start gluing the flowers to the foam core boards. You may get nervous that it won’t hold but I promise, with enough hot glue anything can hold 😉 What’s great about the foam core is that it’s lightweight but holds well and can be easily cut to fit any area. Just make sure to poke holes to thread the zip ties through to attach the flower panels to the rails.

5) On the Day: Its time to string those bad boys up. The hard work is over. Once you figure out how to attach it all you will breeze through it and have time to have that glass, or bottle, of champagne.

You would think the second time around we would have it down...
You would think the second time around we would have it down…

I cannot take all the credit for the idea or the exact ‘how to’ for this post and since I made the fatal mistake of not documenting the process I need to give credit to the blogs I used to help me survive this DIY. I made some changes as I went and learned what worked best for me. I will try to get some more posts up in the future.

For Layout and Over All inspiration:

Dream Create:http://www.dreamcreate.ca/diy-paper-flower-wall/

Pancakes and Glue Guns: http://pancakesandglueguns.blogspot.com/2012/07/love-paper-flowers_24.html

A Beautiful Mess: http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2011/11/diy-wedding-day-flower-wall.html

For the Flowers:

For the Tissue Paper Flowers: Party City:  http://www.partycity.com/content/tissue+paper+flowers+how-to.do                        or: Rust & Sunshine: http://www.rustandsunshine.com/2012/05/tissue-paper-flowers.html?m=1

For the Rose/Poppy Hybrids:Hostess with the Mostess:  http://blog.hwtm.com/2014/03/diy-giant-paper-flowers-tutorial/

For the Dahlia: Love, Pomegranat House: http://www.lovepomegranatehouse.com/paper-dahlia-wreath/

For Other Ideas: Damask Love: http://www.damasklove.com/easy-paper-punch-flowers/